Volcanic Erupter
    Threads
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

100% Estate Tax

Can anyone give me a good argument against this? I'm not an expert on economics or politics, and it seems like such a good idea I'm sure there must be something wrong with it.

So tell me, why shouldn't we have a 100% estate tax? It would make everyone work for their wealth, rather than being lazy and leeching off their families. We wouldn't have politicians who have wealth that they didn't work a day for, wielding power with no experience to make their decisions just or fair. 100% estate tax would pay our government debts, improve society in every aspect (if the money is used correctly), and reduce corruption by a great deal. Why not?

Volcanic Erupter
    Threads
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Class warfare! Get out you communist!
    "The place of the worst barbarism is that modern forest that makes use of us, this forest of chimneys and bayonets, machines and weapons, of strange inanimate beasts that feed on human flesh"

Threads
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Quote by: notthecheatr View Post
    Can anyone give me a good argument against this? I'm not an expert on economics or politics, and it seems like such a good idea I'm sure there must be something wrong with it.

So tell me, why shouldn't we have a 100% estate tax? It would make everyone work for their wealth, rather than being lazy and leeching off their families. We wouldn't have politicians who have wealth that they didn't work a day for, wielding power with no experience to make their decisions just or fair. 100% estate tax would pay our government debts, improve society in every aspect (if the money is used correctly), and reduce corruption by a great deal. Why not?